BlogCareersContact Us

New Hope Housing provides hypothermia prevention programs for adults during the winter months in partnership with Fairfax County, faith communities, and many nonprofit partners.

If you need emergency shelter during winter, please seek shelter at one of the following programs that may be closest to you. (More information can be found on the Fairfax County website: https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/homeless/hypothermia-prevention-program)

UPDATES FOR 2021-2022: There are many changes this year due to COVID. Please read carefully.

In Fairfax County, the Hypothermia Prevention Program shelters will open at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, December 1, 2020, and will remain available 24-hours a day, 7-days a week through the morning of April 1, 2021. Individual sites will have capacity limitations due to social distancing, but staff will work to ensure that everyone has access to accommodations at one of the county’s shelter locations.


New Hope Housing

Southern Fairfax County (Route One)

“No-Turn-Away” Overflow shelter (November 15 – April 1)
Access available 24/7
Eleanor U. Kennedy Shelter
(703) 799-0200
9155 Richmond Highway
Ft. Belvoir, VA 22060

Rising Hope United Methodist Church (December 1 – April 1)
Hours: 6:30 pm to 7:00 am
(703) 704-6017
8220 Russell Rd, Alexandria
Alexandria, VA 22309


Cornerstones

Northern Fairfax County (Reston & Herndon area)

“No-Turn-Away” Overflow shelter (November 15 – April 1)
Access available 24/7
Embry Rucker Community Shelter
(703) 437-1975
11975 Bowman Towne Drive
Reston, VA 20190
Program Contact: Milton Rodriguez (milton.rodriguez@cornerstones.org) or Missy Norquest (missy.norquest@cornerstones.org)

North County Hypothermia Prevention (December 1 – April 1)
Hours: 5 pm to 7 pm
North County Human Services Center, Reston Drop-In Entrance
703-326-6565
1850 Cameron Glen Drive, Room #200
Reston, VA 22309


New Hope Housing

Eastern Fairfax County (Falls Church and Annandale area)

“No-Turn-Away” Overflow shelter (November 15 – April 1)
Access available 24/7
Bailey’s Shelter & Supportive Housing
(703) 820-7621
5914 Seminary Rd.
Falls Church, VA 22041

Rotating Faith Community Sites (December 1 – April 1)

Locations will vary by week. Please contact the Bailey’s Shelter at (703) 820-7621 for assistance. Transportation may be available from the shelter.
Hours: 5:30 pm to 7:00 am


 

FACETS

Western Fairfax County (Fairfax and Centreville area)

Region 4 Hypothermia Prevention (December 1 – March 31)
The Former Container Store
8508 Leesburg Pike
Vienna, VA 22182
Due to COVID, hypothermia prevention programs will not be operated with rotating faith community partners and volunteers.

This shelter location is managed by FACETS. For program related information, please contact Michael Dykes at mdykes@facetscares.org or call 703-854-1785.


New Hope Housing

City of Falls Church

Friends of Falls Church Winter Shelter (November 15-March 31)
By referral only. Please contact Keiyauna Stanley (kstanley@newhopehousing.org) or Lakia Hyman (lhyman@newhopehousing.org)

Operational Hours from 5:00 pm to 7:00 am


Seeking hypothermia shelter in Arlington County:
https://publicassistance.arlingtonva.us/homelessness/cold-weather-plan/

Seeking hypothermia shelter in City of Alexandria:
https://www.alexandriava.gov/dchs/economicsupport/default.aspx?id=49636